City Council

Please see the Newsflash item to the right of the screen with instructions on how to view the meeting.

2021 Hoopaw


Clint Hooppaw
On council since 2011

2021 Bergman - City Use


John Bergman
On council since 2003

2021 Goodwin


Tom Goodwin
On council since 1984

2021 Grendahl
2021 Melander


Ruth Grendahl
On council since 1997


Tom Melander
On council since 2021


Formed as a statutory city, Apple Valley has four City Council members and a mayor. The City Council is the legislative and policy making body for the city government. The mayor and four City Council members are elected at large to alternating four-year terms.

Mission Statement:

The City of Apple Valley is pledged to promote and enhance the health, safety, and general well-being of its citizens and all who visit the City.

In achieving this goal, the City will:

  • Provide a full range of municipal services;
  • Encourage active participation in city government activities;
  • Promote quality development;
  • Provide a balance of residential, commercial, and public uses;
  • Promote employment opportunities within the community;
  • Experiment with new ideas in the delivery of public services;
  • Transmit to future citizens a better and more beautiful community.


Contact for Mayor and All Councilmembers

Mayor Hooppaw Contact

Councilmember Bergman Contact

Councilmember Goodwin Contact

Councilmember Grendahl Contact

Councilmember Melander Contact


  • 7:00 pm
  • Second and fourth Thursday of each month
  • Apple Valley Municipal Center
    7100 147th St. W.
    Apple Valley, MN  55124